Where’s my OUYA!

ouyaWoke up.  Brushed teeth.  Drank coffee.  Checked the calendar.  Holy crap.  Just like many OUYA backers, today’s date was marked on my calendar.  Hmmmm… coincidentally, it’s next to my dental appointment.

As expected, Twitter, Facebook, forums and other social media outlets I checked were buzzing about the anticipated launch.  If you don’t know much about this Nvidia and Android-powered console, please visit www.ouya.tv.  Again, .tv and not .com.

I like the debate about the OUYA’s potential to revolutionize video gaming.  I realize that for the past several years new consoles that were released meant more processing power and speed leading to high quality graphics, control and sound.  But I don’t expect this of the OUYA.  As a lot of people have pointed out, the OUYA is running on an operating system for smartphones and tablets.  I’m not 100% sure what the Nvidia Tegra 3 chip will deliver either.  But I doubt that it can compete with the processing power of the upcoming systems from Microsoft and Sony.

What I do expect is the disruption to the status quo as far as the business of developing, distributing and selling video games.  And that excites me.  I’m also excited by the energy generated by the OUYA and all the new game devices available to a wide range of gamers.  If you like to play games, you won’t be limited to PC or consoles anymore.  Heck, there’s the OUYA, the Game Stick, Nvidia Shield, Steam Box on top of the new Xbox and Playstation 4 consoles!  And if you’ve read my other posts, you know that I’m big on the impact of iOS and Android games.  I haven’t seen this many players in the arena since the mid-90’s.

Head spinning yet?  Mine is.  Don’t forget to follow me on this blog, Twitter and Facebook.  I’ll be posting like mad as soon as I get my OUYA.

About daddygamer365

I'm a tech savvy dad trying to raise a tech savvy family without breaking the bank. View all posts by daddygamer365

Let me know what you think...

