Evo 2012: eSports at its best!

I’ve always been a big fan of fighting games on the console.  My cousins still talk about our 24-hour marathons with Tekken, Mortal Kombat and Soul Calibur.  The Evolution Championship or Evo 2012 in Las Vegas this past week brought back great memories and got me thirsting for some console fighting again.

To the untrained eye, fighting games are merely twitch games played by bashing buttons in hopes to get a good hit.  If you say that about boxing or mixed martial arts, then you’d be wrong, right?  Guess what?  Good players in the fighting game genre apply the same timing, speed and adjustments in their game.  This is why watching the best players at Evo 2012 was awe-inspiring.

I was also impressed to see the internet coverage via video streams.  (video below) I was only dreaming about this technology and how I could cover video game competitions better when I was producing Gamespot TV in the early 2000’s.  Competitive gaming or eSports have come a long way and I believe it has a bright future.

 

 

About daddygamer365

I'm a tech savvy dad trying to raise a tech savvy family without breaking the bank. View all posts by daddygamer365

Let me know what you think...

